Public Square Magazine Primary White, Gold & Black Logo | PublicSquareMag | What is Public Square | Politics, Faith & Family | Home | Public Square Magazine

About Us

Public Square Magazine is founded on the proposition that civic spaces of substance are worth building and preserving. We, therefore, seek to convene, encourage, and support voices of conscience and conviction in speaking to a broad audience. We publish persuasive, honest, engaging, and research-based work that contributes to a more productive public discourse.

While we are concerned with politics we are not political. Although we care deeply about culture, we are not beholden to it.

Our background as members of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints informs the publication’s editorial focus and values, and it inspires us to draw a large enough circle to include voices of goodwill from numerous faith traditions and moral perspectives.

We believe in the power of dialogue to foster understanding, and we are resolved to catalyze and curate meaningful exchanges aimed toward the highest good.

Public Square Magazine is sponsored by the Elizabeth McCune Institute.

The Elizabeth McCune Institute is committed to the study of faith in the public square. It is led by Lynn Chapman, who holds a Ph.D. in public policy from George Mason University. He serves as the president of NVS, LLC and has served in private, public and non-profit organizations including: as an interim editor for Deseret News; on the MWAA board in Washington, D.C.; and as vice-chair of the board of trustees of Southern Virginia University.


Editor in Chief

Daniel Frost

Managing Editor

Christopher D. Cunningham

Executive Communications Director

Carol Rice

Copy Chief

Gale T. Boyd

Visual Layout Director

Pam Peebles

Senior Editors

Jacob Z. Hess
Samuel B. Hislop
Betsy VanDenBerghe

Contributing Editors

Daryl Austin
Carolynn Clark
Jenet Erikson
Michael Erikson
Nathaniel Givens
R.S. Ghio
Lisa Bolin Hawkins
Benjamin Huff
Jeremiah John

Editorial Advisors

Kate Taylor Borden
Joseph Cannon
Tony Hernandez
Alan Hurst
Ty Mansfield
Jessica Moody
Charles Randall Paul
Patrice Pederson

About the author


Testing Testing 123 bolditalics
On Key

You Might Also Like

What About Whataboutism is Hurting American Democracy?

In response to a critique, we are seeing a tendency across the political spectrum to answer with insistence on the greater immorality of those raising the concern – “WHAT ABOUT that [awful thing]”? Here’s why that’s so destructive.

The Dawn of a Significant Shift Towards Life

Although the final draft is uncertain, the leaked Supreme Court majority opinion can be celebrated as a step towards a culture celebrating all life—both the precious unborn and the equally precious mothers who need all of our support.

Balm for America’s Wounds

America has increasingly felt ripped apart at the seams. For the many who have felt this way, Joe Biden’s words this weekend felt reassuring and timely.

Pin It on Pinterest